Winter Beauty

Winter is upon us!

Yesterday was the first day of winter! We have already experienced quite a bit of snow and cold weather where I live but I know it will become more and more intense as the New  Year comes around. I love winter because there are so many wonderful holidays to distract you from the bone-chilling weather (we have very intense winters here). My birthday is also in winter!

To me, winter beauty means Christmas parties, champagne on New Years, and reds and pinks for Valentine’s day. Here are my favorite looks for this season!

1. Glowing, luminous skin. Accentuate your now-paler skin with a swipe of shimmer! You don’t have to be sun-kissed to look radiant year-round. Try a light-handed swipe of a highlight, glow, or shimmer powder on the tops of the cheeks. I have made a horrific diagram to demonstrate where to apply these products in relation to blush and contour, if you use it. Contour is dark, which make things visibly recede on your face, i.e., it can be used to minimize a double chin or to create a false hollow under your cheekbone. Highlights and light-colored shimmers have the opposite effect; they reflect light, which accentuates that part of the face. Using them near the tearducts, on the brow bones, and on the top of the cheek can visibly widen the eye area, as well as provide your skin with the aforementioned glow.Image

I want to try Aromaleigh Laluna, which comes in three different levels of shimmer intensity, $14 each. http://www.aromaleigh.com/twsufaandbop.html I would probably start with Lustre, the most subtle of the three.

2. Statement lashes! I recently tried false eyelashes for the first time. Boyfriend and I had pictures taken, and my cousin, also a beauty junkie, insisted falsies would give my eyes more impact. She had to put them on me because after much trial and error, I couldn’t get them to work. Here is one of our pictures. The lashes are only on the outside corners.

Image

See how none of my other eyelashes even really show up? The lashes make a huge but subtle difference.

There’s a few problems though…for starters, I STILL cannot put them on by myself. They are also way too much work for me for daily use, even though I would love to have awesome eyelashes all day everyday. The other issue was I ripped out about half of my eyelashes trying to remove these…I soaked them in mineral oil to try to loosen the glue, and rubbed them gently like the instructions said, but I think there’s a learning curve with falsies and I am just not there yet.

Despite all the issues, I got such a high from having supernatural lashes for a day that I started looking into alternatives to falsies. Salon-applied extensions are awesome but apparently cost up to 200 bucks a session and only last a few weeks. Then, accidentally, I stumbled across this post on reddit (http://imgur.com/a/q3TM4). The girl posting is a presenter for Younique, a direct sales (think Mary Kay) company that specializes in natural/mineral makeup. I had never heard of it before so I looked at her site and fell in love with the Moodstruck 3D Fiber Lashes. I think they’re just what I’ve been looking for! They’re actually little hair-like fibers that go on after your regular mascara with a washable adhesive. They’re temporary, applied with a mascara wand (so goof-proof), and the pictures are pretty impressive:Image

This is the model from the Younique website. I pulled it off of the reddit poster’s website, so if you buy from her site, she gets the commission. She’s been very helpful with all of my questions so please take a look! Here’s the link: http://ltmakeup.com/.

And this is the picture of the reddit poster:

Image

Looks almost as amazing on a regular person as they did on the model…I’m convinced and will be purchasing them to test out.

PS, her Snow White complexion screams winter beauty to me and I love her red lips!

3. Classic red lips!

I have long been a fan of red lips…it’s one of the easiest bold colors to pair with very fair skin, and there is a shade of red that suits every complexion!

There are two main kinds of red…there are tons of charts and pictures online of who looks best in what shade so I will try to go with a super simple guideline. There are cool and warm reds. Cool reds tend to be more blue/purple-based, and warm more yellow/orange-based. If you have warm undertones to your skin, try a warmer lipstick. Cooler tones, try a cooler one. This is to get the most flattering color. If you want to try a really bold look, feel free to experiment.

I currently own two red lipsticks, Silk Naturals Crimson and Revlon Lip Butter in Cherry Tart.

Cherry Tart

Cherry Tart

Crimson

Crimson

Excuse the smudged edge with the Crimson, I didn’t check my lipstick after I put my sweater on (is that not the perfect sweater for a winter beauty post?).

4. A classic smokey eye! The smokey eye is like the little black dress of the beauty world. It sexes up any outfit or hair combo. It’s equally at home with jeans and a sweater as it is with a cocktail dress.

The single most helpful thing I have found for getting a perfect smokey eye is a smudge brush. I use the e.l.f. Professional Studio Small Smudge Brush. It works really well and is only three dollars but some of the bristles are a little too sharp for my delicate eyelids. It may just be that I got a bad one but I will eventually be looking for a different smudge brush. As far as function, this brush is great. You apply your liner just as you normally would, then use a back-and-forth swiping motion with the tiny smudge brush to smoke out the edges. The result is a beautifully softened lined.

The classic smokey eye uses blacks and greys. Here is a picture of me wearing the Modern Smokey Eye Kit from Silk Naturals. It was created as a clone to the Bare Escentuals Rocker Eye kit. I think it’s a beautiful kit, but it didn’t come with any instructions, so I googled the BE Rocker Eye instructions. Combined with a little direction, this kit is fool-proof.

so smokey

so smokey

If you don’t already have a decent eye brush set, I suggest a smudge brush, as mentioned above, a fluffy brush for blending, a more compact, pencil-sized brush for applying color in the crease, and a flat shadow brush to pack some color on your lids. Check out my Makeup Brush Primer post for a little more info https://fromtheinsidebeauty.wordpress.com/2013/10/05/makeup-brush-primer/.

A great tip for smokey eyes is, don’t worry too much about making a mess. Go through afterwards with a damp flocked sponge and create really clean edges, then apply your concealer. This much dark color on the lower lashline can really emphasize dark circles, and applying concealer after eyeshadow will help you hide any leftover fallout.

Stay warm out there! Enjoy the wonderful giving theme of this Christmas season and don’t worry too much about the endless feasting- it’s good for your soul to indulge every now and then.

3 thoughts on “Winter Beauty

    • Actually, I’m not sure what the ingredients are for the Younique one. It’s listed on the website. This looks very similar! I think it’s a great concept.

    • Ginny, here’s the ingredients list from the 3D lashes. I also have a comparison pic of two-faced vs 3D lashes… trying to figure out how to post a pic on here lol…. I love that the fibers with the 3D fiber lashes are made from green tea leaves instead of nylon. Something about little plastic pieces that can fall into my eyes that scares me just a bit! lol

      Transplating Gel Ingredients: collagen, water, natural Propolis, Brazilian palm glue, Black iron oxide, Acrylic Copolymer, Nylon 12, Stearic acid, propylene glycol/emulsifier. Net: 12ml
      Natural fibers Ingredients: 100% natural fibers taken from the campanulaceae of green tea. Net: 3g

Leave a Reply

